How a 30-team SEC would resemble college football’s past?

The Southern Conference was founded in 1921.

Alabama, Auburn, Clemson, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi State, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Tennessee, Virginia, Virginia Tech, and Washington & Lee were the founding members of the Southern Conference.

Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Tulane, and Vanderbilt participated in the Southern Conference in 1922.

Other current Power Five schools that have joined the Southern Conference were Duke (1928), Wake Forest (1936), and West Virginia (1950).

In 1932, 13 schools of the Southern Conference, located west and south of the Appalachians, left to form the Southeastern Conference.

Southern Conference schools of Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Sewanee, Tennessee, Tulane, and Vanderbilt left and became the founding institutions of the newly formed SEC.

The split to form the new SEC conference was in part from a greater focus on better athletic administration with fewer teams from the Southern Conference’s 23 schools. The Southern Conference also planned to increase admission requirements.

How the SEC Was Formed by Leaving a 23-Team Super Conference

Jackie Sherrill Discusses Predicting Super Conferences in 1989, How Expansion Will Continue

After UCLA and USC leave the Pac-12 to join the Big Ten, Vols Wire looks at current Power Five schools that could join the SEC to resemble the Southern Conference of the past.

Below are schools that can form an SEC of 30 teams in a super conference. The 30-team SEC would be a combination of former members of the Southern Conference, current SEC schools, future SEC teams in Oklahoma and Texas, and teams that are ideal complements.


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire


Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports


Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports


John David Mercer-US TODAY Sports


William Howard-US TODAY Sports


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire

State of Florida

Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire

Georgia Tech

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports


Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports


AP Photo/Winslow Townson


John David Mercer-US TODAY Sports


Jackets Vinlove-USA TODAY Sport

Mississippi state

Bryan Lynn-USA TODAY Sports


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire

North Carolina

Craig Jones / Allsport

State of North Carolina

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports


Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

State of Oklahoma

Rob Ferguson-US TODAY Sports

Ole Miss

Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire

south carolina

Denny Medley-US TODAY Sports


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire


Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

Texas A&M

Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports


Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire


Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

Virginia Tech

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Wake Forest

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

West Virginia

Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

Notre Dame, Pittsburgh or Maryland

Photo by Dan Harralson, Vols Wire





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *