Honoring Dr. Donald Floriddia ’71

Donald Floriddia1DONALD FLORIDDIA ’71
Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Pharmaceutics and Medicinal Chemistry 
45 Years of Service

Dr. Floriddia joined the Pacific faculty in 1968 and earned his Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical and Chemical Sciences at Pacific. Appointed executive director of the Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical fraternity in 1972, he led a complete overhaul of the struggling organization during his tenure. He was awarded an M.S. in Nuclear Pharmacy Fellowship from the USC School of Pharmacy and took a development leave from Pacific in 1974. After completing the program and residency, he co-founded Pharm-Atomic, Inc., the first Centralized Nuclear Pharmacy in California, and wrote the Board of Pharmacy regulations overseeing nuclear pharmacy operations and drug distribution in California. He continued to teach Pacific students in nuclear pharmacy and opened Pharm-Atopes, Inc., a second nuclear pharmacy in San Jose. In 1983 he was appointed chair of Pacific’s Department of Pharmaceutics and Medicinal Chemistry and has served as associate dean of Student and Professional Affairs from 2000 to the present. In 2001, he was invited by Ministry of Higher Education & Scientific Research of the United Arab Emirates to serve on a review team for the pharmacy program of the Ajman University of Sciences and Technology in Dubai and Fujairah. He has held elected positions in state and national pharmacy organizations and received numerous honors and awards, including induction into the California Pharmacists Association’s Hall of Fame (2010) and the San Joaquin Pharmacists Association’s Hall of Fame (2012).

Honoring Dr. Richard Abood

Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences 
Department of Pharmacy Practice
23 Years of Service

Abood holds a B.S. in Pharmacy and J.D. from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. He has worked in both community and hospital pharmacy practice in addition to teaching pharmacy practice at Pacific. Prior to coming to Pacific, he was a professor of Pharmacy Administration at the University of Wyoming and concurrently served for several years as the executive director and legal counsel for the Wyoming Pharmaceutical Association. He has presented and published in the areas of pharmacy and health care law, including the textbook Pharmacy Practice and the Law, now in its 7th edition. In 2000, he received the President’s Award from the American Society for Pharmacy Law for his achievements in the field, and received Pacific’s Eberhardt Teacher/Scholar Award in 2002. He has been active in several state and national pharmacy organizations, including past-president and current board member of the San Joaquin Pharmacists Association, and past president and board member of the American Society for Pharmacy Law. He regularly serves as a consultant on pharmacy law issues to law firms, state and federal governments and pharmacy organizations.